Memorial Day Recap

Well this post is much later than usual due to my oh so busy weekend schedule, not that I didn’t love every second of it! Sadly I was a bad blogger and hardly got any pictures of my weekend but I wanted to do a little recap of it since it was so great :)

Well Thursday I went to an open house for another job haha, these whole job things are getting old for me and you! Ahh the hunting continues however, maybe it will end soon, maybe not. One great thing is I am learning to enjoy the days of working only 20 hours a week instead of 40! Everyone is right, I need to enjoy it while it lasts! Bored or not!

Friday morning started out with a lovely workout! I need some miles on the treadmill and then headed over to a matted area to do a Nike training club workout! Those things are so much harder than they make themselves seem haha. I enjoyed the day doing a whole lot of nothing but some blog reading at Panera, one of my favorite summer things right now. After that I went out! Yes this girl finally went out! I headed downtown to my sisters neighborhood with my best friend for happy hour! Geeze I had no idea how expensive alcohol was! My tab was $15 for three drinks! But hey I got out and enjoyed myself :) We went back to my sisters apartment to hang out for a bit and eat dinner then I headed home for a somewhat early night of ten haha. I realized this weekend that tortilla chips do not agree with my poor tummy which had some nasty stomach pains all evening afterwards.

cookout selfie

Saturday started with some insanity action and some blogilates abs. During this workout yes it was challenging but I had no idea how sore I would actually be. My ribs felt like someone had punched me haha. Guess it was an amazing workout or I was just run down! Our cookout for Memorial Day was planned for Sunday so Saturday I spent preparing for it. This meant a trip to my favorite places Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. I got some great produce and some FAB shrimp (yes the shrimp monster came out again!) I worked on baking these brownies, and no they are not healthy in the slightest bit haha, then I made a gluten free version which I loved! I was exhausted Saturday but my sister and her boyfriend showed up after a wedding so I hung out with them for awhile before heading to bed.

brownies

Sunday morning I woke up with the intentions of running 8 miles, it began a little rough but I ended up completing it :) I was pretty proud of myself, it had been two weeks since my last long run but I felt like a thousand bucks by the time I got done. I got home and of course shoved food in my face, because who doesn’t when you get done running! Then it was back to meal prep! I got the marinade going, chopped some potatoes for fries and cut up the veggies for grilling. Plated some fresh fruit and a hummus and salsa station with some lovely tortilla chips that unfortunately I tried to stay away from this time haha. Our cookout was fabulous! It was a mix of healthy and indulgent items and everything was pretty much gone afterwards. A little after we ate we all played a corn hole tournament, which I am proud to say I was a killer at! We were outside pretty late, but of course that 8 mile run hit me and I headed to bed pretty early Sunday.

run

Monday morning I began my day with some yoga, considering at this point I was pretty sore! My friend met me at 6:30 am for a 5k run to get my legs moving a little, we had a slow and steady pace and it was just what I needed. I didn’t do much after that besides lay around the house. But I did get to go kick around with a long lost friend at a park for a couple hours! It is always so good to catch up with old friends. We had a good time reminiscing about the good old high school days. I stopped by the store for some weekly essentials, did some meal prep and then cooked some dinner. Such a low key day and a nice day off of work.

fruit plate

And here we are on Tuesday :) Glad to be back to work and the busyness! Hope you all had a great Memorial Day and celebrated our heroes right! Have a great Tuesday!

7 comments

  1. Please come and food prep for me. For realz. You do a legit job. Glad you had a good weekend and are keeping your chin up about the whole job sitch. I’ve great faith

  2. I’m jealous of your 8 miles! I’m lucky if I have enough energy for 3 nowadays. I’m also jealous of your NTC app. I used to have it on my phone but it took up too much space :( I’m hopefully going to upgrade to an iPhone with more space in a few months and will definitely be downloading it!

Leave a Reply

